Monday, May 22, 2006

Central Park's Naumburg Orchestral Concert Series

We are pleased to announce the Naumburg Orchestral Concert Series for 2006. Free, open-air concerts at the Naumburg Bandshell on the Central Park Mall are a 101-year tradition and a treasured part of summertime in New York. See below for the concert schedule.

Take Action to Help Restore the Naumburg Bandshell!
As many of you know, the 1923 Bandshell is in desperate need of long-overdue restoration. Council Member Gale Brewer has submitted a request to the City Council for capital funding to support this project. Please contact our office to find out how you can help get money for the Bandshell in next year's city budget.

The concerts are on Tuesday evenings at 7:30 p.m., and the Naumburg Bandshell is located mid-park just south of the 72nd Street transverse road. For more information about the concert series and the history of the Bandshell, visit

The Imani Winds,
Featuring Pianist André-Michel Schub
Tuesday, June 27, 2006 at 7:30 PM

Afro Blue (arr. Valerie Coleman), Mongo Santamaria (1917-2003)
Le Tombeau de Couperin (Arr. Mason Jones) Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
Quintet for Winds, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

~ intermission ~

Oblivion (Arr. Jeff Scott), Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)
Aires Tropicales, Paquito D'Rivera (b. 1948)
Umoja, Valerie Coleman (b. 1970)

The Naumburg Orchestra
George Garrett Keast - conductor
Andrew Armstrong - piano soloist
Tuesday, July 11, 2006 at 7:30 PM

Pulcinella Suite, Igor Fyodorovich Stravinsky (1882-1971)
Piano Concerto No. 24 in C Minor, K. 491, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

~ intermission ~

Symphony No 8 in F Major Op. 32 , Ludwig Van Beethoven (1770-1827)

The Naumburg Orchestra
Sarah Ioannides - conductor
Scott Hartman - trombone soloist
Tuesday, July 25, 2006 at 7:30 PM

Symphony No. 38 in D Major, K. 504, "Prague Symphony," Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Trombone Concerto (1970), Nino Rota (1911-1979)

~ intermission ~

Sinfonietta (1947), Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)

Early Music Concert - Arthur Haas, conductor and director
with members and friends of the Aulos Ensemble
Tuesday, August 8, 2006 at 7:30 PM

Quintet for Guitar and Strings "Fandango Quintet," Luigi Boccherini (1743 - 1805)
Concerto for Orchestra "La Pazzia," Francesco Durante (1684–1755)
Folias for strings, Antonio Vivaldi (1678 - 1741)